REAP is changing

RRV with blue lights

From tomorrow (1st April), national REAP guidance is changing.

The Resourcing Escalatory Action Plan (REAP) is a national indicator of the pressure in ambulance services across the UK, which triggers specific measures and actions when the Trust is operating at significant and sustained increased activity.

Previously, the levels of REAP have ranged from one (normal service) to six (potential service failure) – but the new REAP has four levels only. As previously, all the new levels have associated actions that will aid the Trust with core service delivery. This new plan will also link into the wider NHS Surge and Escalation Framework.

Under the new REAP level system, we will be numerically moving to a lower REAP level (REAP 3 as opposed to REAP 4 where we currently sit), but this by no means indicates that the day to day challenges within the Trust are easing. This is purely because the system has moved from six options to four.

Decisions on REAP levels are made by the executive leadership team; any changes in our REAP level will always be shared here on Need to Know, on East24, and with our relevant stakeholders.

You can find out more about REAP, and download information about the new national system, on East24.

Published 31st March, 2016

Leave a Comment
Name (required)
Email Address (required, never displayed)
Enter a message

(all comments are moderated - your submission will be posted on approval.)