Revalidation for nurses and midwifes

Tying surgical apron

The National Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) is expected to launch revalidation for all nurses and midwifes in October; this means all nurses and midwives on the NMC register will be required to revalidate every three years to ensure they are safe to practice.

The NMC is currently piloting proposals with a range of organisations across the UK, so the following proposed revalidation requirements may be subject to change:

  • 450 practice hours
  • 40 hours of continuing professional development
  • five pieces of practice-related feedback
  • five reflections and discussion
  • health and character declaration
  • professional indemnity arrangement
  • confirmation from a third party.

These requirements will be confirmed in October.

The NMC is expecting the first nurses and midwives to revalidate will be those with a renewal date in April 2016.

The purpose of revalidation is to improve public protection by making sure that nurses and midwives continue to be fit to practise throughout their career.

From this point, nurses and midwives will need to familiarise themselves with the revalidation requirements and start to develop their portfolio. For more information, visit the revalidation section on the NMC website. NHS England (Midlands and East) have also published a regional update, with details of resources and workshops.

Published 25th July 2015 

Leave a Comment
Name (required)
Email Address (required, never displayed)
Enter a message

(all comments are moderated - your submission will be posted on approval.)